Post Doc Symposium

9:45 - 10:30
Live Strong and Prosper – the role of skeletal muscle function in healthy ageing

Dr. Andrew Philp

Dr Andy Philp is a group leader in the Diabetes and Metabolism Division at the Garvan Institute of Medical Research, where he leads the Mitochondrial Metabolism and Ageing laboratory. Andy completed his PhD in Exercise Physiology at the University of Brighton UK, before completing post-doctoral training at the University of Dundee and the University of California Davis. Andy set up his independent research group at the University of Birmingham UK in 2012 where he joined as a Lecturer in Integrative Physiology, progressing to Senior Lecturer in 2015 before joining Garvan as a Group Leader in January 2018.  Andy’s current research is focused on understanding how physiological stimuli such as exercise; inactivity and nutrition induce molecular signaling networks to remodel skeletal muscle in the context of health and disease. His group at the Garvan explores the role of mitochondrial metabolism in the progression of muscle deterioration in Diabetes and Ageing, focusing on the therapeutic potential of exercise, pharmacology and nutraceuticals to maintain optimal muscle function across healthspan. To achieve these goals, Andy’s group utilizes cell, worm, rodent and human experimental models in combination with ‘omic’ platforms to provide detailed metabolic characterization of skeletal muscle.

15:45 - 16:45
Age-associated B Cells: The ABC’s of Autoimmune Disease

Joanne Reed

Joanne Reed is a Group Leader in the Immunology Division at the Garvan Institute. She completed her PhD at Flinders University in Adelaide. She then received an NHMRC CJ Martin Fellowship for postdoctoral training at New York University and Australian National University. Since moving to Garvan, Joanne has developed single cell genomic approaches to study B cells responsible for severe autoimmune pathology in patients with autoimmune disease. Her work aims to identify targeted therapies for autoimmune disease.

Research Symposium

9:50 - 10:20
The influence of the human microbiome on healthy ageing

Professor Geraint Rogers

Geraint Rogers is Director of Microbiome Research at the South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute, leads a research group at the Flinders University School of Medicine, and is a Matthew Flinders Research Fellow. His research focuses on understanding how the human microbiome influences health and disease.

15:30 - 16:00
Improving early risk stratification and targeted preventative management of atherosclerosis for healthy ageing

Professor Gemma A Figtree

Gemma Figtree is a Professor in Medicine at the University of Sydney, and Research Lead for Cardiothoracic and Vascular Health at the Kolling Institute and for Northern Sydney Local Health District. She co-leads the Cardiovascular Theme for Sydney Health Partners, a NHMRC Advanced Health Research and Translation Centre and is the Chair of the University of Sydney’s multi-disciplinary Cardiovascular Initiative. Gemma completed her DPhil at Oxford University in 2002 supported by a Rhodes Scholarship and has continued in the field of oxidative signalling. She is committed to improving the care for heart attack patients- using her knowledge of redox signalling and molecular biology to develop methods of identifying those at highest risk of adverse outcome, and discovering novel therapies to prevent and treat events, inspired by her clinical work as an interventional cardiologist. Discoveries in her Laboratory have been published in leading journals Circulation, European Heart Journal, and FRBM, with > 130 publications. GF is a principal investigator on grants >$6.5 mill. Having recently completed a co-funded NHMRC CDF and Heart Foundation Future Leader Fellowship, she has been awarded a Practitioner Fellowship. She is committed to the advancement of her field, and serves as a member of the Editorial Board of leading international cardiovascular journals Circulation and Cardiovascular Research, as well as being a founding editorial board member for Redox Biology, and an Associate Editor for Heart, Lung and Circulation. Her research and clinical perspective and leadership are recognised by her membership of the Scientific Board of Cardiac Society of Australia and New Zealand (responsible for International Relations), and her appointment to the Expert Advisory Panel for NHMRC Structural Review of Grants Program (2016-17), and as well as the Clinical Issues Committee of the Heart Foundation. She is committed to the promotion and advocacy of cardiovascular research, recently appointed as President of the Australian Cardiovascular Alliance. She is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, and serves/has served as a non-executive Director on multiple community Boards.

Rising Stars

14:10 - 14:30
Optimising the use of vancomycin – using therapeutic drug monitoring to achieve precision medicine

Sophie Stocker

Sophie Stocker is a Senior Hospital Scientist in the Department of Clinical Pharmacology and Toxicology at St Vincent’s Hospital, Sydney. She is also a conjoint lecturer of the St Vincent’s Clinical School, University of New South Wales. Her research program involves clinical and experimental pharmacology, ethnopharmacology, pharmacogenomics, pharmacometrics and qualitative research on the impact of intrinsic and extrinsic factors on drug disposition, efficacy and safety. Her research focuses on understanding variability in response to medicines and how this can be managed to optimise patient care.

14:30 - 14:50
Chiral DNA sequences as reference standards for clinical genomics

Dr. Ira Deveson

Dr Ira Deveson is a Cancer Institute NSW Early Career fellow at the Garvan Institute of Medical Research, with a conjoint appointment at the University of New South Wales. Ira graduated from the Australian National University in 2012 and received the University Medal for Biology. During his postgraduate studies at the Garvan Institute (2014-2017), Ira worked on a variety genomics/transcriptomics projects, ranging from the development of diagnostic reference standards for clinical genomics, to an investigation of the molecular mechanisms underpinning reptile temperature-dependent sex determination. Ira’s graduate research has resulted in 10 publications, including first author articles in Nature Methods and Science Advances, and he was recently awarded an Early Career Fellowship from CINSW to pursue his work on clinical reference standards for genomics.

14:50 - 15:10
Using the force: Piezo channels as molecular reporters of mechanical forces

Charles Cox

Charles Cox is an NSW health EMC fellow at the Victor Chang Cardiac Research Institute (VCCRI). He completed his PhD at Cardiff University in the UK and subsequently joined the laboratory of Prof Boris Martinac. In 2015 he was awarded Young Biophysicist of the Year by the Australian Society of Biophysics. His work aims to understand how cells sense mechanical forces and in particular the molecular basis of force sensing in ion channels.